Wednesday, April 09, 2008

SharePoint Workflow History Cleanup jobs ...

When I first saw this post - Huge MOSS workflow issue ... What is Microsoft thinking!!! - I was shocked. But fortunately the soup is not eaten as hot as it's cooked ...

There is indeed a timer job  (Check SharePoint Central Admin > Operations > Timer Job Definitions) which removes the link between the item on which a workflow has run and the entries in the workflow history list. This means that the info in a workflow history list will not be complete anymore after a certain period of time (default 60 days).

Luckily Robert Bogue gave some more background information in SPWorkflowAssociation.AutoCleanupdays as well as some workarounds:

  • Purging of this list is done using a SharePoint timer job - if you build your own custom workflows you can change the setting by modifying workflow.xml in the features folder like this








  • You can modify this setting using the SharePoint object model - as Robert's postings suggest take a look at the SPWorkflowAssociation.AutoCleanupdays property. Take a look at the next code sample
  • using (SPSite sitecollection = new SPSite("http://moss:99"))
    using(SPWeb site = sitecollection.OpenWeb("/demo")){
    SPWorkflowAssociation _assoc = null;
    SPList list = site.Lists["Shared documents"];
    foreach (SPWorkflowAssociation assoc in list.WorkflowAssociations)
    if (assoc.Name == "WFDemo")
    _assoc = assoc;
    _assoc.AutoCleanupDays = 2;



Anonymous said...

That all sounds great but what happens to OOTB workflows from MOSS, or SPD designed workflows? I assume you would say I would have to go the custom development route as Robert suggested, but are these really solutions or just workarounds to an issue that should not exist?

Anonymous said...

Great Post!

d2 said...

Does this workflow history limitation change with SharePoint 2010